Articles Comments

Faubourg St. John » Week in Review

News You Can Use

News You Can Use

Magical Mystery Tour (continues every Wednesday) http://fsjna.org/2012/09/magical-mystery-tour-31/ BlightStat Gets National Recognition http://fsjna.org/2012/09/blightstat-gets-national-recognition/ Blight Status Available October 11th http://fsjna.org/2012/09/blight-status/ Councilperson Encourages Citizen Involvement http://fsjna.org/2012/09/councilperson-encourages-citizens-to-get-involved/ Police Encourage Calm http://fsjna.org/2012/09/police-encourage-calm-after-drive-by-shooting/ Demolition Begins at 1264 Moss http://fsjna.org/2012/09/1264-moss/ Movie about Bayou St. John http://fsjna.org/2012/09/harding-and-moss/ Postcard from Home (every Sunday) http://fsjna.org/2012/09/postcard-from-home-42/ Desmare Playground http://fsjna.org/2012/09/desmare-saturday-september-22nd/ Lafitte Corridor Gets Green Room Funding http://fsjna.org/2012/09/lafitte-corridor-gets-green-room-funding/ City Updates Website http://fsjna.org/2012/09/new-nola-dot-gov/ HUNGRY FAMILIES NEED YOU http://fsjna.org/2012/09/hungry-families-need-you/ ICONIC SIGN PROJECT ON BROAD http://fsjna.org/2012/08/iconic-sign-project-on-broad/ STREETLIGHT OUT? http://fsjna.org/2012/08/get-your-streetlight-right-here/ SEPTEMBER 28th http://fsjna.org/2012/09/love-in-the-garden/ SEPTEMBER 29th http://fsjna.org/2012/09/city-park-fishing-rodeo-september-29th/ SEPTEMBER 29th http://fsjna.org/2012/09/black-white-and-read-all-over/ Meeting October 8th http://fsjna.org/fsjna-meetings-and-more/calendar-2/ OCTOBER 11th http://fsjna.org/2012/09/morris-jeff-gala/ OCTOBER 17th http://fsjna.org/2012/09/neighbor-shows-work-october-17th/ OCTOBER 18th http://fsjna.org/2012/09/city-park-october-18-630-pm/ OCTOBER 25th http://fsjna.org/2012/09/landscape-leader-to-be-honored-october-25th/ OCTOBER 27th Voodoo on the Bayou – Treme Brass Band to play http://voodooonthebayou.com NOVEMBER 6th http://fsjna.org/2012/09/school-board-election-november-6th/ DECEMBER 1st http://fsjna.org/2012/09/party-for-the-bridges/ ESPLANADE TO GET UPGRADE http://fsjna.org/2012/07/esplanade-to-get-upgrade-in-december/ MORNING CALL IN CITY PARK http://fsjna.org/2012/08/morning-call-to-locate-in-city-park/ MINIATURE GOLF … Read entire article »

Filed under: Week in Review

Newsworthy

Newsworthy

Today’s big news is the building implosion that took place at 8 a.m. this morning. Removal of the building continues the trek toward completion of the biomedical corridor. More on this on every news station today. A random news link is below: http://www.fox8live.com/story/19082879/sunday-implosion-efforts-successful *** Today’s POSTCARD from HOME Look for a POSTCARD from HOME every Sunday at FSJNAdotORG http://fsjna.org/2012/07/postcard-from-home-33/ *** Beer Olympics on Bayou St. John on July 28th http://fsjna.org/2012/07/beer-olympics-on-bayou-st-john/ *** Friends of City Park raffle 2012 FIAT to … Read entire article »

Filed under: Week in Review

NEWS YOU CAN USE

July 4th: BAYOU BOAT PARADE http://fsjna.org/2012/07/july-4th-in-faubourg-st-john/ July 14th: BASTILLE DAY in FAUBOURG ST. JOHN http://fsjna.org/2012/07/bastille-day-in-faubourg-st-john/ July 6th: Deadline to apply for training http://fsjna.org/2012/06/british-empower-new-orleanians/ Nola for Life http://fsjna.org/2012/06/nola-for-life/ Do you need something from your government? http://fsjna.org/2012/06/i-need-something-from-government/ Are you ready for hurricane season? http://fsjna.org/2012/06/are-you-ready/ Shell Station Looking to Upgrade http://fsjna.org/2012/06/proposed-facade-improvements-at-shell/ Take a Tour Right Here http://fsjna.org/2012/06/tour-faubourg-st-john/ Get Smart with Energy http://fsjna.org/2012/06/energy-smart-2/ Still Planting After All These Years http://fsjna.org/2012/06/hike-for-katreena-grows/ Rotary International is Awesome http://fsjna.org/2012/06/rotary-club-greens-museum-entrance/ Catch Up on Your Reading http://fsjna.org/2012/06/desoto-street-library/ City Meetings Calendar http://fsjna.org/fsjna-meetings-and-more/city-meetings-calendar/ Storm Drains Should be Cleaned Regularly http://fsjna.org/2012/05/free-protection/ Map Those Crimes http://fsjna.org/2012/05/crime-mapping/ What Makes a Neighborhood Great? http://fsjna.org/2012/04/what-makes-a-neighborhood-great/ Signs Get Restored http://fsjna.org/2012/04/new-neighbor-restores-sign/ Bayou Water Quality Will Change Soon http://fsjna.org/2012/04/old-flood-control-structure-to-be-removed/ Who Lived in Your House in 1940? http://fsjna.org/2012/04/who-lived-in-your-house-in-1940/ Win a Fiat! http://fsjna.org/2012/04/friends-raffle-fiat/ Foreign Species Invades Bayou St. John http://fsjna.org/2012/04/foreign-species-invades-bayou-st-john/ BLOGTROTTR http://fsjna.org/2012/02/blogtrottr/ Bike Racks http://fsjna.org/2012/02/bike-rack/ Clear Your Browser Cache http://fsjna.org/2012/02/clear-your-browser-cache/ Uptick in Petty Thefts Watch your stuff | Lock your car QR Code for Faubourg St. John http://fsjna.org/2011/12/have-you-seen-me/ Build a Bike and Make a Difference http://fsjna.org/2011/12/build-a-bike-and-make-a-difference/ Faubourg St. John street Named After Famous New Orleanian http://fsjna.org/2011/12/magical-mystery-tour-vignaud/ 1854: Grand Route Bridge http://fsjna.org/2011/11/1854-grand-route-bridge/ 1856: Faubourg St. John Gets Streetlamps http://fsjna.org/2011/11/1856-faubourg-st-john-gets-streetlamps/ 1873: Streetcars … Read entire article »

Filed under: Week in Review

FSJNAdotORG week in review

FSJNAdotORG week in review

This week’s posts at FSJNAdotORG *** Faubourg St. John neighbor, Richard Sacher, owner of American Aquatic Gardens, supplies the plants and maintains the pond in front of the New Orleans Museum of Art. Dean Burridge supplies the fish. http://fsjna.org/2012/06/magical-mystery-tour-20/ *** On June 23rd, 2012, ten neighbors worked hard to make Kennedy Park even more beautiful. http://fsjna.org/2012/06/kennedy-park-warriors/ *** Check out the video to see the retrieval of a vehicle from Bayou St. John. http://fsjna.org/2012/06/vehicle-retrieved-from-bayou/ *** Look for a Postcard from Home every Sunday at FSJNAdotORG http://fsjna.org/2012/06/postcard-from-home-29/ *** Bastille Day … Read entire article »

Filed under: Week in Review

Plenty to See at FSJNAdotORG

Plenty to See at FSJNAdotORG

This week’s site review should have something for everyone. Take a quick look at the list below to check out what might interest you. *** Did you know that if you scroll all the way to the bottom of the main page at FSJNAdotORG that you can click on several links of categories of information? *** Win a Fiat! http://fsjna.org/2012/04/friends-raffle-fiat/ *** Look for a Postcard from Home every Sunday at FSJNAdotORG. http://fsjna.org/2012/06/postcard-from-home-28/ *** Claiborne Meets Joanie http://fsjna.org/2012/06/claiborne-meets-joanie/ *** Wouldn’t it be great if Parkway delivered too! http://fsjna.org/2012/06/subway-on-broad-delivers/ *** A Farmers Market … Read entire article »

Filed under: Week in Review

It’s Happening Here!

It’s Happening Here!

Jazz Fest is over but great things are still happening here in Faubourg St. John. Below are some posts from FSJNAdotORG posted over the last week: What Makes a Neighborhood Great? http://fsjna.org/2012/04/what-makes-a-neighborhood-great/ Come for coffee or come to help for a while! Help your neighbors, gab and laugh and plant or rake and sweep or mulch and play. Bring the kids to play, everyone is welcome! SATURDAY MORNING | MAY 12th | 9 am to NOON | … Read entire article »

Filed under: Week in Review

Posts Worth a Peek

POSTCARD from HOME http://fsjna.org/2012/04/postcard-from-home-21/ Who Lived in Your House in 1940? http://fsjna.org/2012/04/who-lived-in-your-house-in-1940/ Blightstat 33 http://fsjna.org/2012/04/blightstat-33/ Landlord Training Wednesday http://fsjna.org/2012/04/landlord-training-wednesday/ Magical Mystery Tour http://fsjna.org/2012/04/magical-mystery-tour-11/ Community Crawfish Boil http://fsjna.org/2012/04/community-crawfish-boil/ Outdoor Movie http://fsjna.org/2012/04/outdoor-movie-friday/ Help Our Quarter Fest Neighbors Out http://fsjna.org/2012/04/help-our-quarter-fest-neighbors-out/ VOTE Saturday, April 21st http://fsjna.org/2012/04/vote-for-councilmember-at-large/ Friends Raffle Fiat http://fsjna.org/2012/04/friends-raffle-fiat/ Clinic on Broad http://fsjna.org/2012/04/clinic-on-broad/ Lips at Fair Grinds Friday, April 20th http://fsjna.org/2012/04/lips-at-fair-grinds/ Tall Ships and Blue Angels http://fsjna.org/2012/04/tall-ships-blue-angels/ … Read entire article »

Filed under: Week in Review

News You Can Use

News You Can Use

VOTE | RAKE | FUN VOTE TODAY for Councilperson-at-Large http://fsjna.org/2012/03/vote-march-24th-or-early/ TODAY: visit for a while and make your neighbors smile http://fsjna.org/2012/03/fortier-park-rake-festival/ Sunday: Family FUN day at the Fair Grounds http://fsjna.org/2012/03/family-fun-day-march-25th/ Saturday, March 31st: Crawfish and beer for the bridges here http://fsjna.org/2012/03/dont-eat-the-straight-ones-march-31st/ Get Your Shotguns, Drink Some Beer, Eat Some Crawfish http://fsjna.org/links/bridges-and-shotguns/ Stunning architecture abounds in Faubourg St. John: 2800 block of Grand Route Saint John http://fsjna.org/2012/03/2800-block-of-grand-route-saint-john/ 3100 Desoto http://fsjna.org/2012/03/3100-desoto-street/ 3104 Desoto http://fsjna.org/2012/03/3104-desoto-street/ 908 North Rendon http://fsjna.org/2012/03/908-north-rendon/ 1260 Moss http://fsjna.org/2012/03/1260-moss-street/ 1450 Moss http://fsjna.org/2012/03/1450-moss-street/ Bike to Work Day April 11th http://fsjna.org/2012/02/bike-to-work-day/ Lots of Tow Trucks for Your Inconvenience http://fsjna.org/2012/03/jazz-fest-action/ After the Rain, Clean … Read entire article »

Filed under: Week in Review

News You Can Use

News You Can Use

MEETING TUESDAY MARCH 20th Want to know what’s going on in the area? Show up Tuesday at the Fair Grounds. Want to know what exciting events are coming up and how you can get involved? Join your friends this Tuesday in the Black Gold room at the Fair Grounds. Everyone is looking forward to seeing you at 6:30 pm http://fsjna.org/2012/03/meeting-tuesday-march-20th/ ********************************** POSTCARD from HOME The Sunday Postcard from Home feature will be steering to a bit of a deviation from … Read entire article »

Filed under: Week in Review

Faubourg St. John’s Week in Review

Faubourg St. John’s Week in Review

POSTCARD from HOME every SUNDAY http://fsjna.org/2012/03/postcard-from-home-16/ Keep the Bayou Boogaloo Free! http://fsjna.org/2012/03/keep-the-bayou-boogaloo-free/ Don’t Eat the Straight Ones http://fsjna.org/2012/03/dont-eat-the-straight-ones-march-31st/ Family Fun Day http://fsjna.org/2012/03/family-fun-day-march-25th/ Neighborhood Meeting this Monday, March 12th http://fsjna.org/2012/03/meeting-monday-march-12/ VOTE March 24th http://fsjna.org/2012/03/vote-march-24th-or-early/ BlightStat 32 for YOU http://fsjna.org/2012/03/blightstat-32-for-you/ “My Bayou” http://fsjna.org/2012/03/my-bayou-at-swirl/ Team Gleason and the Stompers http://fsjna.org/2012/03/team-gleason-and-the-stompers/ Magical Mystery Tour Every Wednesday http://fsjna.org/2012/03/team-gleason-and-the-stompers/ SHOTGUN VOLUNTEERS http://fsjna.org/2012/03/shotgun-volunteers/ Major Power Outage http://fsjna.org/2012/03/major-power-outage/ RECYCLING every 2nd Saturday http://fsjna.org/2012/03/recycling-2/ Bike to Work Day on April 11th http://fsjna.org/2012/02/bike-to-work-day/ 2552 St. Philip for Sale http://fsjna.org/2012/02/2552-st-philip/ Bayou Treme Center http://fsjna.org/2012/02/bayou-treme-center-2/ Parking Management http://fsjna.org/2012/02/parking-management/ Party at the Pitot House this Friday, March 16th http://fsjna.org/2012/02/pitot-house-events/ … Read entire article »

Filed under: Week in Review

Week in Review

Week in Review

ROCK-n-ROLL MARATHON Today! http://fsjna.org/2012/02/rock-n-roll-marathon/ POSTCARD from HOME http://fsjna.org/2012/03/postcard-from-home-7/ RECYCLING SCHEDULE Saturday, March 10th and beyond http://fsjna.org/2012/03/recycling-2/ ENERGY SMART Saturday, March 10th http://fsjna.org/2012/03/energy-smart-library/ FISH FRY Friday, March 9th http://fsjna.org/2012/03/fish-under-the-dome/ NO WHITE FLAGS http://fsjna.org/2012/02/no-white-flags/ WHO KILLED SMOKEY? http://fsjna.org/2012/02/who-killed-smokey/MAGICAL MYSTERY TOUR Robert Thompson finds painting. http://fsjna.org/2012/02/magical-mystery-tour-ponce-de-leon/ MAGICAL MYSTERY TOUR Jimmy Fahrenholtz grabs fog photo. http://fsjna.org/2012/02/magical-mystery-tour-7/ HISTORIC PROPERTY FOR SALE 2552 St. Philip http://fsjna.org/2012/02/2552-st-philip/ BAYOU TREME CENTER http://fsjna.org/2012/02/bayou-treme-center-2/ PARKING MANAGEMENT Register by March 8th http://fsjna.org/2012/02/parking-management/ PARTY AT THE PITOT HOUSE Friday, March 16th http://fsjna.org/2012/02/pitot-house-events/ WE HAVE A WINNER! Bill Dalton wins NOMA raffle. http://fsjna.org/2012/02/we-have-a-winner/ BIKE TO WORK DAY April 11th http://fsjna.org/2012/02/bike-to-work-day/ THE HEALING POWER OF ART The art of Beverly Morris through March 12th. http://fsjna.org/2012/01/the-healing-power-of-art/ PEGGY BISHOP AT JAZZ FEST http://fsjna.org/2012/01/contemporary-crafts-at-jazz-fest/ SANDRA BURSHELL THROUGH … Read entire article »

Filed under: Week in Review

Faubourg St. John’s Week in Review

Faubourg St. John’s Week in Review

by Charlie London POSTCARD from HOME Look for a postcard from home every Sunday at FSJNAdotORG http://fsjna.org/2012/02/postcard-from-home-8/ FISHday FRY Get great seafood dinners this Friday, March 2nd and Friday, March 9th http://fsjna.org/2012/02/fishday-fry/ Parking Management The Urban Land Institute is hosting a free symposium. http://fsjna.org/2012/02/parking-management/ BLOGTROTTR http://fsjna.org/2012/02/blogtrottr/ Magical Mystery Tour http://fsjna.org/2012/02/magical-mystery-tour-ash-wednesday/ Look for another great stop on the Magical Mystery Tour this Wednesday! It will feature a great painting depicting how Faubourg St. John looked fifty years ago. All on a Mardi Gras Day http://fsjna.org/2012/02/all-on-a-mardi-gras-day/ Feed the First Faubourg St. John’s annual operation to … Read entire article »

Filed under: Week in Review

Faubourg St. John’s Week in Review

Faubourg St. John’s Week in Review

Look for a POSTCARD from HOME every Sunday at FSJNA dot ORG http://fsjna.org/2012/02/postcard-from-home-14/ Neighbor Helps Bring Back Joy http://fsjna.org/2012/02/neighbor-helps-bring-back-joy/ Look for the Krewe Dat Floats NEXT YEAR before Endymion http://fsjna.org/2012/02/2012-krewe-dat-floats/ Mona McMahon Catches Some Neighborhood Wildlife http://fsjna.org/2012/02/neighborhood-wildlife/ Foggy Bayou http://fsjna.org/2012/02/foggy-bayou/ The Interrupters http://fsjna.org/2012/02/the-interrupters/ Bike Corrals http://fsjna.org/2012/02/bike-rack/ Perfect Parade Food http://fsjna.org/2012/02/perfect-parade-food/ Love Letters Online http://fsjna.org/2012/02/love-letters-online/ Join the Magical Mystery Tour Every Wednesday at FSJNA dot ORG http://fsjna.org/2012/02/magical-mystery-tour-clown-house/ Feed the 1st District During Mardi Gras http://fsjna.org/2012/02/feed-the-first/ Rock-n-Roll Marathon March 4th http://fsjna.org/2012/02/rock-n-roll-marathon/ Bridges and Shotguns http://fsjna.org/links/bridges-and-shotguns/ Mardi Gras Legally http://fsjna.org/2012/02/mardi-gras-legally/ It’s a Wonderful Life in Faubourg St. John http://fsjna.org/2012/02/its-a-wonderful-life/ Mid-City Library http://fsjna.org/2012/02/mid-city-library-to-have-grand-opening/ Prevent Flooding, Clean Your Catch Basin http://fsjna.org/2012/01/city-catches-up-with-faubourg-st-john/ Carnival Designs Online http://fsjna.org/2012/01/carnival-designs-online/ Deadline Looming for … Read entire article »

Filed under: Week in Review

Faubourg St. John NEWS

Faubourg St. John NEWS

Neighborhood News Postcard from Home Every Sunday http://fsjna.org/2012/02/postcard-from-home-12/ *** Love on the Bayou http://fsjna.org/2012/02/today-love-on-the-bayou/ *** Mardi Gras Legally http://fsjna.org/2012/02/mardi-gras-legally/ *** Neighborhood Meeting this Monday http://fsjna.org/2012/02/board-meeting-agenda-2/ *** BlightStat 31 http://fsjna.org/2012/02/31-flavors-of-blight/ *** The Color of Wonderful http://fsjna.org/2012/02/12524/ *** Rail Improvements in the Future http://fsjna.org/2012/02/new-orleans-rail-gateway-program/ *** Magical Mystery Tour Every Wednesday http://fsjna.org/2012/02/magical-mystery-tour-web-of-lines/ *** It’s a Wonderful Life in Faubourg St. John http://fsjna.org/2012/02/its-a-wonderful-life/ *** Pick Up Your Produce Box Here http://fsjna.org/2012/02/fresh-from-the-farm-at-swirl/ *** Burned Car Gets Picked Up http://fsjna.org/2012/02/blight-attracts-burnt/ *** Mid-City Library http://fsjna.org/2012/02/mid-city-library-to-have-grand-opening/ *** Mid-City Cyclones http://fsjna.org/2012/01/mid-city-cyclones/ *** Party with the Women of the Opera Guild http://fsjna.org/2012/01/party-with-the-women-of-the-opera-guild/ *** Support Our Local Artists http://fsjna.org/2012/01/the-healing-power-of-art/ http://fsjna.org/2012/01/contemporary-crafts-at-jazz-fest/ http://fsjna.org/2012/01/art-world/ *** Prevent Flooding, Clean Your Catch Basin http://fsjna.org/2012/01/city-catches-up-with-faubourg-st-john/ *** Carnival Designs Online http://fsjna.org/2012/01/carnival-designs-online/ *** S&WB Wants to Raise Your Rates. Speak Up! http://fsjna.org/2012/01/rate-increases-and-drainage-funding/ *** Neighborhood Author Releases Book http://fsjna.org/2012/01/neighbor-releases-book/ *** Deadline Looming for Matching … Read entire article »

Filed under: Week in Review

FAUBOURG ST. JOHN FIGHTS BACK

FAUBOURG ST. JOHN FIGHTS BACK

The residents of Faubourg St. John are nothing if not opinionated. We are fiercely protective of our way of life and our neighborhood. I’ve been doing some research lately and ran across several articles you may find interesting. Of particular note is an April 6, 1984 article in the Times Picayune detailing an incident where a former Mayor of New Orleans almost came to blows with a Faubourg St. John representative over night racing at the Fair Grounds. … Read entire article »

Filed under: Week in Review

Website Apps